The Centre for Canadian Studies came into existence in March 1992. The Centre has established global linkages and has become a centre of intense academic activities in Delhi. Keeping in view its excellent achievements, University Grants Commission upgraded the Centre to an Area Studies Programme Unit in 2002.

The Centre has been organizing two prestigious annual events:

  • Lester Pearson Lecture--which the Centre organizes every year in April, on the birth anniversary of late Prime Minister of Canada, Mr. Lester Pearson. This annual Lecture has been delivered every alternate year by an eminent Canadian and it has attracted very important persons from Canada.
  • Pierre Trudeau Memorial Debate – this is organized to help popularize Canada’s socioeconomic, political and cultural environment among the youth in the country. This debate is open exclusively for the undergraduate students of the University of Delhi.

In addition, the Centre has been organizing seminars, workshops and conferences on topical issues of relevance to both India and Canada. Several books have been published and launched under the aegis of the Centre. The Centre has been fortunate to be associated with and recognized by the University Grants Commission, the Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute, the IDRC, the Canadian High Commission in India and the Indian High Commission in Canada among other institutes and organizations.

The Centre’s path to glory has been paved by the efforts of professors from different departments and disciplines of the University of Delhi who have functioned as its directors. Prof. K. R.G. Nair (Department of Business Economics, now Department of Finance and Business Economics) was the founding director of the Centre. He was followed by Prof. R.S. Dhankar, Faculty of Management Studies; Professor Shirin Rathore, Department of Financial Studies; Professor V.K. Vassal, Department of Financial Studies; Professor Malashri Lal, Department of English and Professor Enakshi Khular Sharma, Department of Electronic Science.

Presently, Prof. Suman Kundu (Department of Biochemistry) is the Director and Dr. Yamini Gupt (Department of Finance and Business Economics) is the Deputy Director of the Centre.